Delaware Decriminalizes ‘Personal Use’ Marijuana Possession
Delaware has officially decriminalized possession by adults of small amounts of marijuana.
A decriminalization law signed in June by Delaware Gov. Jack Markell took effect Dec. 18.
The law makes possession by an adult of a “personal use” quantity of marijuana, defined as an ounce or less, a civil offense punishable by a fine of $100. Simple possession remains a criminal offense for anyone under 18. For those between the ages of 18 and 21, a first offense will result in a civil penalty, but any subsequent offense would be a misdemeanor.
Smoking pot in a moving vehicle, in public areas, or outdoors on private property within 10 feet of a street, sidewalk or other area accessible to the public also would be a misdemeanor.
Copyright 2026 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
Popular Today
- Two Dead at Tampa Office After Man Drove Car into Building and Started Shooting
- 17 State Attorneys General Urge NY Court to Uphold Business Fraud Suit Against Trump
- Florida Appeals Court Bars Release of ‘Trade Secret’ Info in Heritage Claims Litigation
- AIG Steps Back from NPW Growth Target on Pressure in Some Lines