2018 Workers’ Comp-Related Bills Signed into Law in California
The Workers’ Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau of California in early October issued a summary of legislation signed into law by Gov. Jerry Brown.
The Legislature recessed for the year on Aug. 31, and Brown had until Sept. 30 to sign or veto any bill passed by the Legislature.
Following is a summary of workers’ comp-related bills signed by Brown:
Assembly Bill 1749
This bill provides that a California employer may accept liability for an injury sustained by a peace officer not acting under the immediate direction of his or her employer while apprehending suspected law violators, protecting life or property, or preserving the peace outside of California. This bill specifically includes any claims for injuries sustained by peace officers during the Oct. 1, 2017 mass shooting in Las Vegas, Nev., if the employer determines providing compensation serves public purposes.
Assembly Bill 2046
This bill authorizes, instead of requires, Fraud Assessment Commission funds appropriated but not expended in the fiscal year that have not been allocated to the district attorneys, to be applied to satisfy the immediately following fiscal year minimum total amount required or to augment funding in the immediately following fiscal year.
The bill also requires an authorized government agency that is provided with workers’ comp insurance fraud-related information to release or provide that information to an authorized government agency, upon request, unless it would violate federal law or otherwise compromise an investigation. The bill also requires an authorized government agency that seeks to disclose information obtained from the Employment Development Department to any other governmental agency that is not authorized to receive that information to obtain EDD approval prior to disclosure.
Assembly Bill 2705
Licensed contractors are required to have a current and valid Certificate of Workers’ Compensation Insurance or Certification of Self-Insurance on file with the Contractors’ State License Board, and violation of this law is a misdemeanor that must be prosecuted within two years. This bill makes it a misdemeanor violation for an unlicensed contractor to fail to comply with workers’ compensation insurance requirements and makes that violation subject to the two-year statute of limitations.
Senate Bill 880
This bill authorizes an employer, with the written consent of the employee, to deposit disability indemnity payments for the employee in a prepaid card account until Jan. 1, 2023. The bill imposes certain conditions, such as allowing the employee reasonable access to in-network ATMs and allowing for withdrawal and purchases without incurring fees. The bill also requires employers to provide aggregated data on their prepaid account programs to the Commission on Health and Safety and Workers’ Compensation upon request and requires CHSWC to issue a report to the Legislature on or before Dec. 1, 2022, regarding payments made to those prepaid card accounts.
Senate Bill 1086
With respect to peace officers and active firefighting members, existing law extends the time period for commencing workers’ comp proceedings to collect death benefits from 240 weeks from the date of injury to no later than 420 weeks from the date of injury, not to exceed one year after the date of death. Pursuant to existing law, this extension of time pertains to injuries, including but not limited to cancer, tuberculosis or blood-borne infectious diseases and is only operative until Jan. 1, 2019. This bill removes the Jan. 1, 2019 date of repeal.
- P/C Insurance Industry’s Net Underwriting Income Up 24% in Q1, Reports A.M. Best
- MGM Sees $800 Million Las Vegas Shooting Settlement; $751 Million Covered by Insurance
- Billionaire Paying Off College Students’ $40 Million Debt Has Ties to Insurance Industry
- U.S. Post Office Testing Driverless Trucks Between 2 Cities